We’ve all been there.

The Internet or power goes out, or in your hustle you click the wrong button, and you lose an update you were making on your website. It’s a deflating feeling, but there’s good news, at least for HubSpot users. There are ways to recover lost content, and we’re aware of a few little-known hacks for doing it on HubSpot. If you’ve lost data, take a deep breath and read. This article lays out your options.

Don’t archive—delete.

One way you can ensure you don’t lose content or data is to archive web pages, landing pages, or blogs is to archive rather than delete them. It’s easy to archive on HubSpot, which lets you organize archived files in a separate folder so you can return to them as needed. Here’s what the archive option looks like on most interfaces: archive-content-arrow

Find your revision history with HubSpot editor.

When working on a recent blog or web page, you sometimes delete something you shouldn’t. The flexible columns feature in HubSpot makes this more alarming, because you’re deleting an entire module, and the content within it seems unrecoverable. But your saved changes are kept in HubSpot’s revision history, and they’re easy to find. Just look for this in the editor:

editor-revision-button-arrow

Now you can see a menu of all revisions you’ve made, preview the revision of your choice, go back to that version, and restore lost content.

revision-preview-screen

Recover design manager files.

For those of you who use HubSpot’s design manger to build and alter templates, there’s a revision history option for those files as well. It’s not in the HubSpot editor but is located under the Actions tab in any template or file:

revision-design-manager-hubspot-arrow

Clicking here allows you to preview and select files, just as in the HubSpot editor.

Use a smart hack to recover lost content in removed modules.

As developers and designers, you sometimes change a template in a way that alters multiple HubSpot pages already created with that template. Cloning templates and working on test pages is a best practice, of course, but sometimes you just don’t have time. In that process you may have to swap a module or replace it. When you replace a module in the design manager, it kills content created in every page within the module. This lost content isn’t recoverable in revision history, page editor, or design manager features. Yikes!

But there’s a little-known hack that help you recover that lost content. Restore the template to the version previous to your deleting. That deleted module is returned, and all content within it is restored, albeit with each page recovering content from a slightly various dates. We’re not entirely sure why it happens this way, but if you’ve lost something significant from a removed module, this hack may be your best route to recover lost content.

These are just some of the ways you can recover lost content on Hubspot. Do you have any tips or tricks? Let us know!

 

Subscribe For Updates

If you want to stay up-to-date with all our content on Hubspot Design and Development, please subscribe. We value your email address and will not SPAM you with frequent updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This